If I’m going on my Eat. Pray. Love journey

“I think I deserve something beautiful.” ― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Whoever read the book or watched the movie before, you’ll understand, this is causing serious wanderlust stirring. For those who are not familiar with this memoir, it’s about a woman called Liz Gilbert who went for her one year long soul searching trip to Italy, India and Bali after the devastation of her life at the age of early thirties. And in the end, she found her love for food in Italy, spiritually inspired in India and fell in love in Bali.

I can personally related to the story. I’ve been through something similar like what happened to Liz. I went through my first serious heart break (so cliche) at the age of 21, and I thought that’s the end of my life. Everything that I’ve planned in mind is gone when I moved out from the house and embarked on the next journey of my own. My imaginary perfect life will be getting married when I’m 25 or something with that guy who I thought he loves me dearly, and starting our own family with a stable job aside. However life doesn’t turn out like what I’ve imagined. After the heartbreaking separation, I quit my job with good career prospective at that time to work with another small firm with more travel opportunities. I’ve also booked a two weeks holiday to Bangkok and embarked my first ever solo backpacking. Last but not least, I quit my job and went to UK for further study (with the intention to travel actually).

People who I met along the way telling me their stories which are really inspiring, but I would say the book inspired me the most so far. I don’t have the wisdom or humour of Liz but my first solo trip to Bangkok changes my perspective towards travelling, even people. After that, more and more solo trips affects my life in a good way and change my mind towards relationship. When I was young, I was so stubborn and persist on a guy who doesn’t worth any of my time and effort. I might still doing the same now, but I understand that people come and go. Eventually you stop wishing about it, you will only put effort towards the one who you don’t expect anything back. But if he doesn’t appreciate my time and effort or treat me right, I will walk away and continue my journey. I’ve learnt to love myself more, as no one else should love myself more than I do. I will do things that I like for my own happiness, and make myself happy. I will ensure the happiness of my loved ones, because I like to see them happy as well. I’m blessed with everything I had now and what I’ve been through, feeling thankful all the time to those who hurts me before even it was painful that time. Most importantly, I’m very happy with my life now, and I love it very much.

You grew up every time you leave your comfort zone. You met people unexpectedly, you fell in love without realizing, and you become stronger every time without knowing it. You can’t stop whatever that happens, you might believe in karma but you let it go. I might took the path less taken, but I’ve learnt and seen so much and I’m not regretting any of it.

“Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

I’ve been to India, Italy and Indonesia on separate occasions, not with the Eat.Pray.Love mood of course. But I’m thinking, if I’m going to embark my own Eat.Pray.Love journey, where will I go?

Eating and enjoying life (“Eat”)

Valencia 01

I’m actually quite contemplating in picking the only foodie destination but I would say Spain. Spanish are so friendly and warm, you can easily meet some locals who will tell you about their favorite spot for tapas and stuff. Not to mention, food from every region in Spain are so different but all so good! Who doesn’t want to indulge in tapas feast into the wee hour? That’s my way to enjoy life, to be able to eat good food 24/7.

Other options: Copenhegan or Brussels.

Finding spirituality (“Pray”)

Tigers-Nest Bhutan(image source from google)

Bhutan. This “last shangrila” country located in the Himalayas, with strong sense of culture and Buddhist teaching is still well preserve in all aspect of life. I was raised as a Buddhist and would like to find myself in this magical kingdom. I would love to be inspired by this deeply Buddhist land. And it’s hard not to be happy when you’re in the happiest land on earth.

Looking for balance and fall in love (“Love”)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Florence, Italy is always the place that closest to my definition of romantic. It’s easy to fall in love with the city. As the sun goes down in spring and hits the old buildings bordering the river with its last rays, as you cross Ponte Vecchio and breathe that something in the air that transform your regular everyday city into something beautiful that will last an eternity in your memory. Not forgetting the best gelato in your hand and when you indulge in some of the best wines, the guy next to you seems little bit more charming than usual.

** Head to Piazzale Michelangelo before the sun set. I always have a thing for observatory deck, and oh boy, I’m in love with that one. 

What’s your Eat.Pray.Love destination then? 🙂

“I think I deserve something beautiful.”
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert – https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/19501.Eat_Pray_Love

Love,

Jo. xx

Leave a Reply

